Have you ever had that time where you try to log in to an account you created years ago, only to find that your account has been deleted? Well, this is pretty common, and you may be wondering; ‘does Snapchat delete accounts that aren’t active anymore?’.
No, Snapchat does not delete inactive accounts since they require a large database of users in order to pitch to new investors & advertisers. It is in their best interest to let your account remain active until such time that you wish to delete it.
Reasons why Snapchat would deactivate your account
Of course, there are a select few reasons as to why Snapchat may deactivate your account. As a general rule of thumb, if you break their terms of service, your account may be deactivated. Here are a few main ways which may get your account deactivated:
Underage inappropriate content
If you’re using Snapchat to distribute/transfer inappropriate material of underage people, your account may be deactivated since you would be breaking the law in many countries.
Using Snapchat to abuse people is another reason why your account may be deactivated. Naturally, it’s simply not accepted by them.
Other illegal activities
If you’re using Snapchat to conduct other illegal activities, they reserve the right to deactivate your account permanently.
How to deactivate your Snapchat account
For whatever reason, you may wish to deactivate your Snapchat account and delete all data they have of yours.
To do this, follow the steps below.
- Visit Snapchat.com
- Go to Support > Community > My Account & Security
- Click Account Information
- Select Delete My Account
- Follow the instructions as prompted by Snapchat
In addition, you may wish to download your data before deleting your account as you won’t be able to access it once you have deactivated your account.
That’s it folks
I hope you found this guide useful, if you did, give it a like and leave a comment!